The Wind Symphony, under the direction of Andrew Boysen, is the select wind ensemble consisting of approximately 45 instrumentalists. They perform a wide range of music for winds, from small chamber ensembles to full band literature. Works are generally quite difficult and include both classics and contemporary music in the repertory. Wind Ensemble rehearses Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 11:10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Auditions for membership are held in the fall.

Wind Symphony to Perform at 2016 NHMEA State Conference

The Wind Symphony is excited to announce an upcoming performance at the New Hampshire Music Educators Association State Conference, to be held at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord, NH on Friday, April 8, 2016. The ensemble will be featured in a Showcase performance, along with the UNH Chamber Singers, from 1:30 pm to 2:45 pm. Repertoire will include Children's March (Percy Grainger), Adagio for Wind Instruments(Joaquin Rodrigo), and In Wartime (David Del Tredici).Wn

2015-2016 Concert Dates

The 2015-2016 Wind Symphony will have concerts on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, October 14th 8pm
  • Sunday, November 22nd 3pm
  • Tuesday, March 1st 8pm
  • Wednesday, May 4th 8pm


All Wind Symphony concerts are held in the Johnson Theater in the Paul Creative Arts Center. These concerts are free and open to the public.


Wind Symphony Releases New Compact Disc

In the fall of 2015, the Wind Symphony proudly released its sixth compact disc recording, and its fifth in a series of recordings featuring the works of specific composers. This time, the focus was on the music of one of our own faculty members, Michael Annicchiarico, who has contributed several wonderful pieces to the wind band repertoire (including a full length score to the Douglas Fairbanks silent film classic, The Iron Mask, previously released by the Wind Symphony on DVD). This new recording features the rest of Professor Annicchiarico's wind band output, including his Landscapes, S'a'int Funk, Chelmsford Common, and Mythologies.

This adds to the growing catalog of recordings by the UNH Wind Symphony, including:

  • Echoes of the Holocaust
  • The Music of Mark Camphouse
  • The Music of David Maslanka
  • The Music of Timothy Mahr
  • The Music of Daniel Bukvich

The Music of David Maslanka and The Music of Daniel Bukvich were both selected for inclusion on the Grammy Entry List and all of the above recordings are available for purchase through the music department office or through iTunes or Spotify.


Wind Band Invitational

This year's Wind Band Invitational will occur on Wednesday, May 4, 2016. This annual event invites seven bands from the New England region to participate in a day of clinics and performances on the UNH campus. Each ensemble has the opportunity to observe other bands, hear a performance by the Wind Symphony, and receive clinics from Dr. Boysen and a guest composer/conductor. Recent guest artists have included Brant Karrick, Daniel Bukvich, and Mark Camphouse. It is traditionally a wonderful day of learning and music-making for all involved.


This year we are honored to have with us guest composer/conductor 1st Lt. Ryan Nowlin, assistant conductor of the United States Marine Band, whose biography appears below. We hope you will consider joining us for 1st Lt. Nowlin's appearances in concert with the Wind Symphony on May 4 and the Symphonic Band and Concert Band on May 5.


Assistant Director First Lieutenant Ryan J. Nowlin joined “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band in August 2010 as a staff arranger. He was appointed Assistant Director and commissioned a first lieutenant in July 2014.

With “The President’s Own,” 1st Lt. Nowlin has arranged and composed a variety of selections for the Marine Band, Marine Chamber Orchestra, brass quintet, and various other small ensembles. His music has been performed at the White House, in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area, across the country during the band’s annual concert tour, at the Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago, and at the National Association for Music Education’s Music Education Week in Baltimore. As an arranger for the Marine Band, 1st Lt. Nowlin has created original arrangements of “America” and the National Anthem for performance at the 2013 Presidential Inauguration and Johann Sebastian Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor, which was featured on the 2013 Marine Band recording, From the Keyboard.

He has served as a conductor for the fall and winter Chamber Music Series and the band’s Conductor Training Program in 2013. He was nominated for his current position in 2014.

1st Lt. Nowlin’s early music instruction was on the piano and French horn. Upon graduating in 1996 from North Royalton High School in Ohio, he attended Bowling Green State University (BGSU) in Ohio, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in music education in 2000 and a master’s degree in music education and conducting in 2004. He studied with Herbert Spencer and Bruce Moss at BGSU, as well as prolific composer Anne McGinty.

Prior to joining “The President’s Own,” 1st Lt. Nowlin was an instructor at BGSU and served as a staff arranger for the BGSU Falcon Marching Band. Additionally, he was an instructor at BGSU where he taught band arranging, conducting, and was the assistant director of athletic bands. He was an instrumental music teacher for 10 years serving as an assistant band director at Jackson City Schools in Ohio and most recently was the director of bands at Brecksville-Broadview Heights School District in Ohio.

In addition to his duties with “The President’s Own,” 1st Lt. Nowlin has appeared as a conductor and clinician with several ensembles to include the Kansas State University Wind Ensemble and Chorus; the Capital University Honors Wind Ensemble in Bexley, Ohio; the Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne Wind Ensemble; and the Defiance College Community Band, also in Ohio.

1st Lt. Nowlin, the son of Steele Nowlin and Chris Jayjack of Broadview Heights, currently lives in Fairfax Station, Va., with his wife Danielle and their children Joseph and Abby.



Page 1 of 2